My Friend the Octopus: from the author of Darwin's Dragons

£3.995
FREE Shipping

My Friend the Octopus: from the author of Darwin's Dragons

My Friend the Octopus: from the author of Darwin's Dragons

RRP: £7.99
Price: £3.995
£3.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

SA filmmaker's documentary captivates the world". Algoa FM. 22 September 2020 . Retrieved 26 December 2020.

Craig Foster started swimming daily in the freezing waters of South Africa's Cape Peninsular in a bid to counter work burn-out, only to develop a relationship with... an octopus. And to celebrate, we caught up bestselling author Lindsay Galvin to get the low-down on all things octopus! If you're interested in finding out all about how Vinnie Fyfe and her octopus friend came to be, keep on reading ... The characters are full of depth – such as Vinnie, a budding illustrator and Charlie, a hopeful journalist. All the characters show a lot of growth through the book, which is lovely to read. The detail in the story really captures the essence of Victorian England and it is full of wonderful octopus facts! I may be biased but Ghost is my favourite character for sure!

This gallery is from

Set in the Victorian times, this middle-grade book is about a girl's new life in Brighton and her connection with an octopus at the local attraction.

Annual IDA Documentary Awards". International Documentary Association. 16 January 2021. Archived from the original on 21 January 2021 . Retrieved 26 January 2021. My Friend the Octopus is one of the best books I’ve read all year and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Such an adorable story, with some intriguing plot twists sprinkled in. The bond between Lavinia and the octopus is the sweetest thing.💕 When her mother, a successful milliner, suddenly whisks Vinnie away from everything she knows in London to live in Brighton with her Aunt Bets, her world is turned upside down. The two have never been separated yet now her mother has travelled to Paris on business, leaving Vinnie to a very different life with far more freedom and many new experiences. Vinnie is particularly drawn to the aquarium where she is enchanted by the newest acquisition, a ‘rare gargantuan devil-fish’- a giant octopus. Through observation and patience, Vinnie gradually comes to know this creature, using her sketching skills to capture her unusual friend. Sadly, the storytelling is clunky and the plot promised in the title, synopsis, and cover doesn't start till over halfway through. And the ending kind of came out of nowhere. Moving to a different country, one that's never been mentioned previously, and one where they don't speak the main language. Aunt Bets and Mr Lee getting together?

Browse reviews by Publisher

Vinnie Fyfe is 12 years old and lives with her mother in London. Her mother makes fine hats for rich ladies, hats designed by Vinnie, who is a talented artist. The year is 1877 and unexpectedly, Vinnie is taken by her mother to stay with an aunt in Brighton. Her mother than promptly disappears. New at the Brighton Aquarium is a giant octopus, bound to be a big attraction. Vinnie finds herself drawn to the octopus and the people who work there. She also meets some friends for the first time. If only she knew where her mother was, she could really enjoy her time in a new setting, learning so much that she had not known about before.

From the bestselling author of Darwin's Dragons comes a high-stakes aquatic adventure, perfect for fans of The Murderer's Ape! England, 1893, and aquarium fever is at its height. Twelve-year-old Vinnie Fyfe works in the tea-shop at Brighton aquarium, and waits for her milliner mother to return from Paris. The arrival of a giant octopus changes her life for ever. Discovering a talent for art, Vinnie begins to draw the extraordinary beast. She soon realises she can communicate with the octopus through colour and - as a gripping mystery begins to unfold - discovers what true courage really means ...

Running throughout the book is the mystery surrounding Mrs Fyfe’s disappearance. I enjoyed this aspect of the plot very much. Mr Jedders is a wonderfully sinister villain. And the plot twists relating to this part of the story were unexpected and brilliant. Our heroine learns so much about the octopus I couldn't help but think about three other middle grade books where the main character connects with sea creatures. The Line Tender is about sharks, Song for a Whale is about whales, and The Thing About Jellyfish Foster describes the effect of this mentorship-like relationship the octopus provided him, teaching him a lesson on the fragility of life and humanity's connection with nature. [8] This transfers to Foster creating a deeper bond with his son, Tom Foster, as his son develops as a diver and marine biology student.

Golden Kapok Awards Winners Announced". Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival. 17 December 2020 . Retrieved 26 January 2021.Vinnie's clothes aren't really suitable for cooking, riding her Aunt's bicycle or wandering around an aquarium and her mother certainly wouldn't approve of swimming. She makes friends with Charlie (wannabe reporter) and Temitayo (the ward of an English gent who lives with a lady in Brighton). Best thing of all - Vinny’s relationship with Ghost. It was magical and I’m not ashamed to say I shed a tear or two at a certain point. WARNING: Octopuses don’t live that long. Yes, the octopus dies, and yes, you will cry. Prepare accordingly. But she isn't hearing anything from her Mother, then a letter arrives, but so does Mr Jeddars. Who is he really? Why is he looking for her Mother?



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop