The Elemental Detectives: the first book in a cracking adventure series

£3.995
FREE Shipping

The Elemental Detectives: the first book in a cracking adventure series

The Elemental Detectives: the first book in a cracking adventure series

RRP: £7.99
Price: £3.995
£3.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Marisee and Robert are the Elemental Detectives chasing the clues to avoid catastrophe: they must face the ghosts of Hyde Park, the monstrous coiled snake of the Serpentine, and a whole host of other fantastical creatures in their mission to stop the Shepherdess and prevent London slumbering for all eternity… Big, bold, future classic storytelling for a new generation. I wish the book would have focused on EITHER the elemental beasts OR the Ether OR the Shepherdess instead of putting it all in one book and seeing what sticks. And, finally our heroes: Marisse and Robert, the latter based on the real life 18th century teenager, Jonathan Strong, a significant name in UK Black History which should be shouted much louder.

Marisee and her Grandma are the only ones who really know about the Elementals, and she acts as a “chosen one” bridge between the two worlds. This review was written by Kelly Ashley With over 20 years of education experience in both the US and the UK, Kelly Ashley currently works as an independent consultant, providing training and support for primary schools across the UK.The Elementals, however, have become increasingly displeased from the years of pollution and lack of care from the ‘Solids’ (humans who live in this world). Instead, it just seems to be the real Georgian London… only with a bunch of spirits lurking around corners.

Set within the ancient streets of London, the world that Lawrence has created is one which is ruled by the Elemental spirits – the Dragons (fire), the Fumis (air), the Chads (water) and the Magogs (earth). A stunningly imagined, action-packed fantasy adventure for fans of Nevermoor, Neverwhere and Mortal Engines, from bestselling and award-winning author Patrice Lawrence.

Event when things go wrong for Marisee and Robert, hope springs forward in different forms, driving them forward. The idea that the four ‘elements’ – earth, water, air and fire – make up all matter was the cornerstone of philosophy, science and medicine for nearly 2,000 years. Mortality was a problem not exclusive to the poor in the 1700s – disease, war, and childbirth were all to perilous even for the moneyed classes. The mystery of what’s going on and who’s behind the sleeping sickness was a good one, with a satisfying villain.

And then, there are, of course the Elemental spirits who co-exist with the human population: the earthy-clay Magogs, watery Chads, fiery Dragons and airy Fumi. Her writing has won awards including the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Children and The Bookseller YA Book Prize.

Exploring deep themes of slavery, child endangerment, and poverty in Georgian London through the eyes of two Black children, one enslaved and one an apprentice to her grandmother, is a very interesting premise and it was very well done. A London where magic sparks just beneath the surface - this book is set to ignite young imaginations. This book (and its characters) focuses strongly on the inequality of eighteenth-century society, and I was glad to see it. However, most of the dreaming is about dead loved ones the dreamers miss, and this is where that constructions falls apart.

Patrice Lawrence is the multi-award-winning author of Orangeboy, which won the 2017 Waterstone’s Book Prize, the 2017 YA Book Prize and was shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Book Awards and the Carnegie Award. I just hope that Patrice Lawrence takes the time in future installments to flesh out her ideas more!But some are awake and chasing Marisee, controlled by a mysterious Shepherdess, who wants to find Marisee’s grandmother. Lawrence is passionate about bringing people of colour back into the history narrative and she has done so with flair and authority in this lively middle grade novel. Step into a London lit up by the Elemental spirits: the fiery Dragons, the airy Fumis, the watery Chads and the earthbound Magogs. An investigation into everyday objects and the elements from which they are composed would be an interesting side-line study to accompany this book. When he helps Marisee escape some attacking sleepers, he discovers a world of Elemental spirits, serpents in the Serpentine and ghosts in Hyde Park.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop